The Account Owner can upgrade or downgrade your Hotjar plans at any time for each of the Ask and Observe products. Your currently subscribed plan can be found on your Sites & Organizations page. See the Hotjar pricing page for the latest features and pricing.
How to upgrade or downgrade your subscription
Click your profile image and select Billing, then on the next page click Subscriptions.
This will take you to your Subscriptions page.
Click Manage subscriptions.
Click Change plan next to the plan you'd like to upgrade or downgrade.
In the window that appears, select the plan you'd like, then click Change plan.
To pause, cancel, or use the free version of Hotjar, downgrade your Site's subscribed plan(s) to Basic.
After selecting your plan change, click Continue to checkout.
Enter your Billing address, then click Continue to payment details.
Enter your Payment details, then click Set Payment Details.
When upgrading or downgrading, your bank may ask you to re-verify your subscription amount
Your bank may ask you to verify bank details when upgrading or downgrading your plan, but you will not be charged the amount shown in the verification window until your next billing date. Any updates that change the total cost of your subscription on its next billing date may require additional bank verification. Your bank is asking you to pre-approve this new total amount for all subscriptions in your Account.
After checking your changes on the Review order page, click Confirm and pay.
- If you're upgrading, you'll be charged immediately, including any pro-rata amount if you're making changes mid-billing cycle. When the payment is successful, you'll be shown a confirmation page.
- When downgrading mid-billing cycle, the Site will remain on the plan originally selected until the end of the current billing cycle. When the new billing cycle begins, you will no longer be charged for the older plan. This includes our monthly and yearly subscriptions.
Can I use Hotjar for free?
Yes! The Observe Basic plan collects up to 35 500 daily sessions and the Ask Basic plan has an allowance of 20 monthly responses. If you have a paid subscription and wish to be on a free plan, you can downgrade your plan to Basic. Learn more about our pricing and plans on the Hotjar pricing page.
What happens to my data when I downgrade my plan?
All data that you collected will remain within your account according to our data retention policy.
If you choose to downgrade from a paid plan to a Basic plan, it is important to note the changes that will be applied to your site after the downgrade. You can compare your existing Ask or Observe plan to the Basic plan for that product on the Hotjar pricing page.
Upgrading your Sites in-between billing cycles
When upgrading or adding an additional site on a paid plan in the middle of a billing cycle, Hotjar will use pro-rata billing.
Your account will not be charged the full amount of the plan that you upgraded or added. Instead, you will be charged from the day you made the changes through the end of your current billing cycle. The full price of the plan selected will be charged in the following billing cycle.
Downgrading your Sites in-between billing cycles
When downgrading your Site in the middle of a billing cycle, it will remain on the plan originally selected until the end of the current billing cycle. Once the new billing cycle begins, you will no longer be charged for the older plan. This includes our monthly and yearly subscriptions.
What if I downgrade my Observe plan and upgrade my Ask plan?
The downgrade will take effect at the end of the billing cycle and you can cancel this downgrade if needed, before the end of the billing cycle. The upgrade will take effect when it is made and you'll be charged a pro-rata amount for the upgrade. You won't be able to cancel the upgrade because it has already taken effect when it was made.
How is Pro-Rata Calculated?
Hotjar divides the total price of a plan by the days in the month to get your “daily price”. We will then multiply this by the number of days left in the month. This does not apply with less than 24 hours remaining in a billing cycle.
I've upgraded the wrong site, or chosen the wrong plan
If you've accidentally upgraded the wrong site on your account, please keep the paid plans on the site (no need to downgrade) and reach out to Support as we may be able to help by swapping the plans to the correct site.
Swapping plans between sites on the same account.
We are only able to swap plans between sites on the same account, and if the request is made within 48 hours of the accidental upgrade and if the site has not yet been downgraded.
If you've chosen the wrong plans for your site, you can downgrade the plans directly from the Billing page on your account, and reach out to Support so we can help out with a refund and to get your site set to the correct plans.