The Account Owner can Downgrade or Upgrade your Hotjar plans at any time. If you are looking to pause your plan, downgrading to our Basic (free for life) plan is the best option.
Team members with Admin, Read & Write, and Read Only access levels can see what Hotjar plan they're on from the Sites & Organizations page within the Settings menu.
Next to each site you have access to, you'll see one of the following labels: Hotjar Business, Hotjar Plus, or Hotjar Basic.
Only the Account Owner can access the Billing page to make subscription changes
It seems that you are not the Account Owner. To see who the Account Owner is, visit the Team page while logged into your Hotjar dashboard.
Have the Account Owner go to Plans & Billing.
Use the Data Collection Rate drop-down to select a new plan for your site.
Hotjar Business and Plus Plan Customers experience Continuous Capture for Heatmaps and Recordings. The number of daily sessions chosen will determine how much traffic Hotjar will track. Learn more about Continuous Capture and Sampling. For Hotjar Basic Customers your plan includes 2,000 Pageviews. If the traffic on your site is greater than the data collection rate of the Basic Plan, Hotjar will automatically use a sample of your users to generate results.
Click Update Plans to confirm changes.
You may be asked to verify bank details when downgrading your plan, but you will not be charged the amount shown in the verification window until your next billing date
Any updates that change the total cost of your account on its next billing date may require additional bank verification. Your bank is asking you to pre-approve this new total amount for all subscriptions in your account.
Downgrading and Upgrading FAQs
Yes! The Basic, free for life plan, collects up to 2,000 daily pageviews. If you have a paid subscription and wish to be on a free plan, you can downgrade your plan to Basic.
All data that you collected during your time on a higher plan will remain within your account according to our data retention policy.
If you choose to downgrade to our Basic plan, it is important to note that it has limitations on future data collecting based on how much data you already have stored within your account. You can see the limit on data collection for our Basic plan in the Hotjar Plans table.
When upgrading your Sites or adding an additional Site on a paid plan in the middle of a billing cycle, Hotjar will use pro-rata billing.
Your account will not be charged the full amount of the plan that you upgraded or added. Instead, you will be charged from the day you made the changes through the end of your current billing cycle. The full price of the plan selected will be charged in the following billing cycle.
When downgrading your Site in the middle of a billing cycle, it will remain on the plan originally selected until the end of the current billing cycle. Once the new billing cycle begins, you will no longer be charged for the older plan. This includes our monthly and yearly subscriptions.
Hotjar divides the total price of your plan by the days in the month to get your “daily price”. We will then multiply this by the number of days left in the month. This does not apply with less than 24 hours remaining in a billing cycle.
Example going from Basic to Business (Assuming you made the change with 15 days left in the billing cycle):
Business plan at $99 / 30 (days in the month) x 15 (days left in billing cycle) = Pro-Rata Rate Billed [$49.50]
When upgrading a plan, Hotjar will use the same calculation as above, however, we will subtract the price difference that you have already paid for your current plan.
Example going from Plus to Business:
(Business plan at $99 / 30 days x 15) [$49.50] - (Plus plan at $39 / 30 days x 15) [$19.50] = Pro-Rata Rate Billed [$30]
If you've accidentally upgraded the wrong Site on your account, please keep the paid plan on the site (no need to downgrade) and reach out to Support as we may be able to help by swapping the plan to the correct Site.
Swapping plans between sites on the same account.
We are only able to swap plans between Sites on the same account, and if the request is made within 48 hours of the accidental upgrade and if the site has not yet been downgraded.
If you've chosen the wrong plan for your Site, you can downgrade the plan directly from the Billing page on your account, and reach out to Support so we can help out with a refund and to get your Site set to the correct plan.