You are the Account Owner
Head to Your Account Owner is still available to make the change to learn how to change Account Owner.
Based on your site selection, we can see you are NOT the Account Owner. If you do not have access to the Account Owners email, following the steps under Your Account Owner is unavailable is the fastest way to get support. Our support team will not be able to help until these steps are followed.
The Account Owner is a team member with permissions to add/edit/delete an Organization on the Account, change Account settings, and manage plans and billing information. We recommend your Account Owner's email address is accessible to more than one person, as each Account has only one Account Owner.
Your Account Owner is still available to make the change
Changing the Account Owner applies to the entire Account
If you only need to change the ownership of a single Site or Organization, you can follow our article on How to Transfer a Site or Organization to a Different Account.
When changing Account Owner it is important to keep in mind that:
- The new Account Owner will have increased team member access, allowing them to edit and access everything in the Account.
- The Older Account Owner's access to the Organization will not be removed. See our guide on revoking team member access to remove the old Account Owner's access.
- This change will not result in any lost data.
Go to your Preferences.
Click Change Account Owner.
Enter the current Account Owner's password and agree to the terms.
Once the changes are submitted, ownership will be transferred to the new Account Owner.
Why can't I change the Account Owner?
If you are unable to follow the steps in the Account Owner Change guide, it can be because:
- One or more of your Organizations has SAML SSO enabled
For more information on changing Account Ownership when SAML SSO is enabled on your Organization, check out our guide for Single-Sign On (SAML SSO).
The current Account Owner uses Google SSO
If the current Account Owner logs in with Google SSO, they'll need set a new password. The Account Owner can set a password from their My Details page by clicking on Change Password.
One or more sites on the account is not on Ask Basic and Observe Basic
If the new owner is already a Hotjar Account Owner the accounts will be merged. If the team member you're transferring ownership to is already an Account Owner of an existing Hotjar account, the accounts will be merged. To avoid unexpected charges, all subscriptions need to be downgraded to Ask Basic and Observe Basic before changing ownership.
You're unable to add a DNS TXT entry to verify the account
DNS TXT entries may require help from a colleague For DNS TXT entries, you may need to ask the person in charge of managing the hosting and domain names for your organization to complete this step. You can also refer to our guide on How to Verify my Domain using DNS TXT for more help with this.