In order for Hotjar to connect your Feedback responses submitted through Polls, Recruiters, and/or Incoming Feedback to Recordings, you will need to grant your consent.
This will allow the owner of the site you are visiting to have a better understanding of your overall experience.
When you are about to submit your response through a Feedback tool, such as Polls, Recruiters, or Incoming Feedback, you will see the following message:
If you have not granted consent by selecting the “X”, your feedback will still be submitted, but there will be no User ID or searchable Recording associated with the visit.
If you have granted consent by selecting the checkmark, the same User ID that is assigned to the Feedback response can now be assigned to a Recording that can display your behaviors and interactions on the site.
What Granting Consent Allows
Granting your consent will allow the owner/manager of the site you are visiting to collect and combine the feedback you’ve just submitted with:
- Any other feedback you’ve previously submitted to us from the same device
- Location, limited to country
- Language used
- Device and Browser used
- Custom Attributes (e.g. products or services you are using)
- Behavior and Interactions on the page(s) you visited
All Recordings collected will be retained for no longer than one year. It will then be automatically deleted. All Feedback data you submit is stored in accordance with our Data Retention policy.
You have the right to withdraw this consent at any time. From the date when you withdraw your consent, we will no longer combine your feedback with information about your behavior.
Any data collected and combined from the date when you granted consent until the date of withdrawal would have been lawfully processed.
The legal basis for processing this data, which might include personal data, if you provided any, is Article 6(1)(a) EU General Data Protection Regulation.¨