User Attributes can be disabled by site if you no longer wish to collect that data. Any reports that rely on User Attributes for targeting purposes will be disabled.
This means widgets will need to have their targeting changed or User Attributes re-enabled to start triggering again.
If you want to prevent User Attributes being sent in the future, it is best to remove the code on your site. Once the code is deleted from your site, previously collected User Attributes will still exist but no longer be updated or added to new users to your site.
The Disable button only appears after User Attribute data has been sent to Hotjar
If your site shows that User Attributes is enabled, but you don't see a button to Disable it, it could mean that your team never sent data to Hotjar using the Identify API. In other words, if Hotjar hasn't received any User Attribute data, you won't see the button to disable the feature. Hotjar can only collect User Attribute data after the Identify API code has been successfully implemented.
Go to the User Attributes that you want to disable.
Pick the site you'd like to disable User Attributes on from the drop-down above the User Attributes table.
Click Disable User Attributes.
Once the button is clicked, further calls to the API will be blocked.