Account Owner permissions or delegated billing permissions are needed to access and update everything billing-related. This includes the payment method, subscribed plan changes, editing invoice details, and updating billing notifications. To see who the Account Owner is, visit the Team page while logged into Hotjar.
Before reading this article, it can help to take a refresher on some Hotjar Account concepts from our article What are Accounts, Organizations, and Sites?
Each Site has its own Observe and Ask plans applied to it.
Each Site you add to Hotjar has an Observe and an Ask plan. To see the latest plans and pricing, visit our pricing page. For a particular Site, these plan types can be different for each of the Observe and Ask products. For example, you can have Observe Business and Ask Scale applied to a Site. When calculating the total cost on your billing due date, we add up the cost of each of the paid plans in your Account.
Plans can be changed from the Manage subscriptions page.
From the Manage subscriptions page, you can change the Observe and Ask plan selected for each site. For more details on upgrading or downgrading your Hotjar subscription, see our How to Upgrade or Downgrade Your Hotjar Plans article. To update your payment details, visit the Payment details page.
An Account has one billing cycle for all plans across all Sites in that Account.
An Account can be paid on either a monthly or yearly basis, and the billing cycle chosen will apply to your whole Account. This means all plans for all Sites in your Account are renewed on the same date, as it’s not possible to have different billing cycles for each Site or Organization in your Account.
Any plan upgrades you make mid-cycle will be charged at a pro-rata rate based on the next billing due date.
What if you need different payment methods or billing cycles for different Sites?
If you need a different payment method or payment cycle than the one currently applied to your Account, a workaround is to sign up for a new Account using a different email address. You'll be able to use a different payment method or billing cycle for this new Account and can switch between each Hotjar Site by adding yourself as a team member on both Accounts.
If you've already set up multiple Sites in your Account, you're able to transfer Sites and Organizations between Accounts unless paying by manual invoice.
Billing notifications let others receive invoices as an attachment by email.
In the Billing notifications box, you can add the email addresses of people you’d like to receive invoices. After adding their email address, future invoices will be emailed to them as an attachment.
Invoices are generated based on the information inside the Invoice details box.
Any changes you make to these details will be applied to future invoices. You can also update your tax number in the Invoice details box.
Invoices can be downloaded.
When your Account is billed, an invoice is generated and will be made available on your Invoices page for download as a PDF file.
From the Payment details page, an Account Owner can change the payment method to be used when the Account is charged.
An Account has one payment method that will be used to pay for the total cost of the paid plans in that Account. You're unable to have multiple payment methods for each Site or Organization inside one Account.
The payment details can be changed on the Payment details page by clicking Change and entering the new details.