Before reading this article, it can help to take a refresher on some Hotjar Account concepts from our article What are Accounts, Organizations, and Sites?
Only Account Owners have the permission level required to view and make changes to everything billing-related. This includes the payment method, subscription, and company details.
Plans are applied per-Site
Each Site you add to Hotjar is always subscribed to one of three plan-types: a free Basic plan, a paid Plus plan, or a paid Business plan. When calculating the total cost on your billing due date, we add up the cost of each of the paid plans in your Account.
You can find the latest prices for our plans on our pricing page.
An Account has one payment method to pay for all Sites
An Account has one payment method that will be used to pay for the total cost of the paid plans in that Account. You are unable to have multiple payment methods for each Site or Organization inside an Account.
An Account has one billing cycle for all Sites
An Account can be paid on either a monthly or yearly basis and the billing cycle chosen will apply to your whole Account. This means all Sites in your Account are renewed on the same date as it’s not possible to have different billing cycles for each Site or Organization in your Account.
Any plan upgrades you make mid-cycle will be charged at a pro-rata rate based on the next billing due date.
What if you need different payment methods or billing cycles for different Sites?
If you need a different payment method or payment cycle than the one currently applied to your Account, a workaround is to sign up for a new Account using a different email address. You'll be able to use a different payment method or billing cycle for this new Account and can switch between Site dashboards by adding yourself as a team member on both accounts.
If you have already set up multiple Sites in your account, you are able to transfer Sites and Organizations between Accounts unless paying by manual invoice.
Billing notifications let others receive invoices as an attachment by email
In the Billing notifications box, you can add the email addresses of people you’d like to receive invoices. After adding their email address, future invoices will be emailed to them as an attachment.
Invoices are generated based on the information inside the Invoice details box
Any changes you make to these details will be applied to future invoices. You can also update your tax number in the Invoice details box.